020 3816 3693
Camden Development Finance

Student accommodation · H1 2026

Student accommodation development in Camden: H1 2026 report

What the H1 2026 planning pipeline, sold prices and lending activity mean for anyone developing or funding purpose-built student accommodation in Camden.

Period: 1 January to 30 June 2026 · Published 25 September 2026

2

New PBSA capacity applications

H1 2026

Not stated

Beds stated in proposals

Excludes replacements and mixed schemes

£580,000

Median flat sale

Student districts, H1 2026

21

Development and bridging charges

H1 2026 vs 8 in H1 2025

The Camden PBSA pipeline a new scheme competes with

Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Camden received 2 planning applications for new or additional student accommodation, after we removed condition discharges, amendments and consultations so that each scheme counts once.[2]

Over the twelve months to the end of the period, the same registers show 5 new-capacity applications stating 3 beds. That is the forward pipeline a new Camden scheme would be competing with for students and for funding.

New student-capacity applications, H1 2026
ReferenceReceivedStatusTypeStated beds
2026/1229/P2026-03-30PendingPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
2026/2226/P2026-06-04PendingPurpose-built student accommodationNot stated
Camden planning registers, status at extraction.[2]

Planning outcomes and what funders look for

Of the 2 applications received in H1 2026, 0 were approved, 0 refused and 2 still undetermined at extraction.

Development lenders price planning risk directly. Most will fund construction only once a sui generis PBSA consent is in place and pre-commencement conditions are discharged. Land bought ahead of consent is usually financed separately, with lower leverage and a shorter term.

Exit values in the student districts

HM Land Registry recorded 137 flat sales and 18 terraced sales in Camden's student postcode districts in H1 2026.[1] For smaller schemes such as cluster-flat conversions and studio blocks sold unit by unit, those prices are the nearest local evidence of exit value.

The median flat sale was 7.2% below the H1 2025 median.

Larger PBSA schemes exit differently: through a forward sale or forward funding to an investor, or by refinancing onto an investment loan once the building is let. Those exits depend on rent, occupancy and the operator, which the full market report covers.

Median sold prices in Camden's student postcode districts
TypeH1 2026H1 2025Last 12 months
Flats£580,000£625,000£627,500
Terraced houses£1,396,250†£1,711,250£1,420,000
HM Land Registry Price Paid Data for NW1 and WC1, standard residential sales to 2026-07-30.[1] Transaction-sample medians, not valuations. † fewer than 30 sales. Recent months are incomplete because registrations lag completions.

Development lending activity in Camden

Companies House recorded 140 charges over property in these districts in H1 2026, +26.1% on H1 2025.[3] Development and bridging lenders held 21, against 8 a year earlier.

Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 75.0% sat with specialist banks and non-bank lenders rather than high-street banks.

Charges registered over property in Camden's student districts, by lender type
Lender typeH1 2026H1 2025
Specialist banks6031
Not in our lender register3256
High-street banks2716
Bridging lenders217
Companies House charges, matched to lender type using the Construction Capital lender register.[3] Charges are security instruments, not loans; one facility can create several. Individual lenders are not named.

What a PBSA development finance deal in Camden involves

Talk to us about a Camden scheme, or read the full Camden student accommodation market report for demand, rents and occupancy.

  • Planning. A sui generis student accommodation consent, with conditions and any Section 106 obligations understood before drawdown.
  • Delivery date. Programmes are built back from a September opening. Missing the academic year can cost a full year of income, so lenders test the build programme and contingency closely.
  • Demand evidence. Enrolment trends, the local ratio of students to beds and any university nominations agreement.
  • Operator. Who will run the building, and their track record, often decides the loan terms as much as the property itself.
  • Exit. A forward sale, forward funding or refinance onto an investment loan once stabilised, each with evidence behind it.

Sources

  1. [1] Price Paid Data · HM Land Registry (OGL v3.0) · to 2026-07-30
  2. [2] Planning application registers · Camden · H1 2026
  3. [3] Register of charges · Companies House · snapshot 2026-08-01
  4. [4] Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 · HESA (approximate) · 2023/24

Market commentary based on public data, published by Lenzie Consulting Ltd. It is not a valuation, investment advice or an offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Individual lenders are not identified.

Discuss a Camden student accommodation scheme